Uncategorized

A Withered Leaf: anxiety and exhaustion

Ever been worried on no sleep before? The worry becomes compounded. At least it does for me. Today I couldn’t believe the downward spiral my mind went on. I mean, I was not only thinking of “what’s the worst thing that could happen” but also what’s the worst thing that could happen and add to that extraordinarily bad circumstances, multiply that by 100, and we all end up living out of a van. Just saying. It was absolutely ridiculous, you guys. Lots of fear whirling around my head.

I read psalm 1 today, and when it says “…who’s leaf does not wither” all I could think of was, “I feel like a withering leaf.”

I hadn’t planted myself by that stream of water today, or meditated on Gods Word much yet for the day. This was that stream of water. And I needed it. I needed to run to that stream. Literally. Today was one of the days my kids both took a nap at the same time and Dad was home. I know I’m extra fortunate when this happens. Well I don’t think it was a coincidence today. I needed time with myself and God and this was the perfect timing.

I planted myself by the running stream of fresh water that is Gods word, had a grace filled conversation with my dear husband, and laced up for a five mile run by the lake.

“Instead, his delight is in the Lord’s instruction, and he meditates on it day and night. He is like a tree planted beside streams of water that bears its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither. Whatever he does prospers.”

‭‭Psalms‬ ‭1:2-3‬ ‭HCSB‬‬

I don’t want to be that withering leaf anymore. I want to be like the fresh gorgeous fruit I ate for breakfast . I want to be filled with wonder, not worry. I want my family to see me as the strong tree that drinks up from the life giving Word of God! Not a withered worn out leaf totally parched and dry. Although fall is beautiful and I love the withered, falling leaves, who doesn’t. You get what I mean.

Anxiety withers me. I don’t want it. Rest. Rest my dear soul and take a second look. Run to the stream that restores your day and nourishes your life.

Leave a Reply

